Tweet, Tweet

Maybe it’s just me.  It could be an age factor.  Or maybe the world changes so fast from one day to the next, it’s hard to keep up. The thing is, I’ve recently become more active on Twitter, but even after reading through the help pages, I still don’t understand how the site works or how to use it right.  I muddle through.  I make mistakes.  I laugh at myself, say, “Oops,” and hope I didn’t piss someone off, or step on their toes.  I understand using hashtags helps the tweet go places it might not otherwise go, but I have no idea why, or which tags are the right ones to use.  I’m with the over fifty crowd, I didn’t grow up with this technology, so it’s nowhere near second nature for me.  Heck, I still refuse to own a cell phone.  Go ahead and laugh, but for so long as I believe a cell phone has the ability to kill bees and possibly cause brain tumors, I’m not stepping in that ring.  Besides, they tell us technology is supposed to make our lives simpler.  I suppose it might work that way for some, but talk to anyone who has been involved in a car accident because someone else was texting or chatting on a phone instead of focusing on the road and then explain how life got simpler for those unfortunate souls.  And, when was the last time you had a minute to yourself?  I mean truly a moment you could call your own, without thinking about posting a selfie on Facebook, or the vibration of a phone in your pocket?  I don’t mean to harp.  If your connection to technology brings you joy, then who I am to tell you not to dive into that lovely pool?  Joy is where it’s at…follow your joy!  Personally, I love my Me time.  I would go absolutely bonkers without it.  I value precious moments of solitude.  Meditation.  Contemplation.  Maybe it’s part of my American Indian ancestry.  I remember a fellow once asking me, “What’s the saddest thing in life?”  My answer: To die without knowing yourself.  So, how can I embark on a journey of self-discovery with a cell phone stuck to my ear?  I can’t.  I need that Me time.

I really am interested in learning how to Twitter my tweets the right way.  For now, as I expressed to Margaret Atwood in a recent tweet, my bird is flapping around in circles, confused by all the chaos.  My guess is I’ll get there with practice.  Would I bother if I didn’t have to?  Probably not.  Fact is, I’d rather sit on the banks of a clear stream, soak in the wisdom of the universe, and maybe catch a speck of inspiration for my next book.

Balance.  Everything in life is about attaining the right balance.

@AuthBKCRAWFORD

Author of Devil's Edge, The Future Queen, and J.J. Houston: Murder on Moon Street. I live in Rhode Island with the love of my life, two menopausal tomato plants, and several purse-snatching poltergeists. I love to read. I'm an archaeology buff, I poke around in science and physics, philosophy and art, and I enjoy gardening. My favorite movie is Fried Green Tomatoes, I listen to movie soundtracks while I write. Like Garfield, I will absolutely chase my own shadow for a pan of lasagna.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Author, Process, Writing

Leave a Reply

